Tenant eviction FAQ for Oregon landlords
When a tenant’s actions justify a with-cause eviction, that can be a meticulous yet overall straightforward process. However, without-cause, or no-cause evictions in Oregon, can be trickier to go through with. Oregon law limits what’s considered an allowed circumstances for a no-cause eviction.
For any eviction notice you may need to work through as a landlord, it helps to have good counsel. But to give you a starting point, this guide to no-cause evictions in Oregon can give you a starting point for your decision-making process.
Can a landlord evict a tenant for no reason in Oregon?
Technically, yes, but the allowed circumstances are limited. During the first year of a renter’s tenancy in a property, a landlord can go through a no-cause eviction process for various reasons, as long as they are not in violation of the law.
After a year’s tenancy however, no-cause evictions become limited to circumstances such as:
- Demolition of the property
- Renovations that make occupying the property unsafe
- The property owners and/or their family plan to occupy the property as their residence
However, renters in Portland may be entitled to relocation assistance or other compensations under a no-cause eviction. The City of Eugene is considering similar protections for renters.
What is the one-year restriction on no-cause evictions?
Allowable reasons for a no-cause eviction in Oregon became more limited due to Senate Bill 608, which passed in 2020. Known as the one-year restriction, this provision can prohibit landlords from issuing no-cause evictions after one year of tenancy, or require 90 days notice. Circumstances around demolition, renovation, or owner/family occupancy provisions as noted above can be exceptions.
Prior to the passing of the one-year tenancy threshold however, landlords may issue no-cause evictions as long as they are not in violation of the law, such as anti-discrimination laws.
How much notice does a landlord have to give for a no-cause eviction at an Oregon rental property?
In order for an Oregon landlord to legally pursue the no-cause eviction process, the landlord must provide:
- 30-day written notice in all Oregon rentals except for rentals in Portland
- 90-day written notice for rentals in the City of Portland
No-cause evictions in Portland also require the tenant to be paid for relocation costs.
Are any COVID-related eviction moratoriums still in effect for no-cause evictions?
No. Oregon’s pandemic eviction moratorium expired on June 30, 2021.
However, “non-payment balances” from the pandemic could not be used as cause for eviction. As of Feb. 28, 2022, a grace period for the repayment of pandemic-related back rent expired.
Non-payment of rent may be considered a for-cause or with-cause eviction, but could not be considered a no-cause eviction.
How long does it take to evict a tenant in Oregon under a no-cause eviction?
The 30-day notice (all Oregon except Portland) or 90-day notice (City of Portland) is required by Oregon law. The law also requires that the eviction notice state the exact day that is the last day of the tenancy.
Whether with-cause or no-cause, eviction remains a process carried out through the court. That timeframe may vary county to county or locality to locality.
No-cause evictions: legal but limited
Yes, Oregon law allows no-cause evictions, but under limitations set by statute. In addition to the one-year threshold, a landlord must be able to clearly define that the eviction is for an allowable no-cause justification.
Working through the eviction process can always be tricky. Need help figuring out the eviction process for a tenant?